Tags

Reading Habits

Today, I want to share my reading habits with you. This way you can get to know me a bit better and I start to think about how I read. I hope you enjoy this article.

Do you have a certain place at home for reading?

I mostly read on the couch in the living room and sometimes at my desk in my bedroom. The latter happens when I really want to finish the book and when it is very exciting.

Bookmark or random piece of paper?

I read on my e-reader, so I do not need to mark where I am in the book. But when I read a physical book, I use a random piece of paper because I am not organized enough to actually have a bookmark.

Can you just stop reading or do you have to stop after a chapter/a certain amount of pages?

Most of the times, I stop when I finish a chapter because that is the easiest. But when I need to do something else, I will stop after a paragraph. I cannot just stop with reading in the middle of a section.

Do you eat or drink while reading?

In the evening, I eat some snacks, but I cannot drink and read at the exact same time. I have to stop reading for a few second when I take a sip. I do not have to eat or drink while reading.

Multitasking: Music or TV while reading?

When I read in the living room, there is TV on because my parents are in that same room watching TV. I do not really watch it, it is more of a sound in the background. The same is with music in my bedroom, but then I repeat the same song that fits with the book over and over.

One book at a time or several at once?

I read one book at a time because I am afraid that I will get confused. Currently, I am listening to an audiobook and reading another book. Yet, I am not sure I enjoy that.

Reading at home or everywhere?

I prefer to read at home because then there are fewer distractions for me. A few months ago, I read on the subway on my way to university, but that did not happen recently.

Reading out loud or silently in your head?

In my head for sure. I do not like the sound of my own voice and with fantasy, I cannot pronounce the names. So, that will sound very weird when I read that out loud.

Do you read ahead or even skip pages?

No, I am too afraid that I will miss something important in the story or that I will spoil myself. When I feel like skipping pages, then I am clearly not enjoying the book. I had that when I needed to read books for school, but it never happened with books I wanted to read.

Breaking the spine or keeping it like new?

I try to keep it as new, but it has happened that I broke the spine by accident.

Do you write in your books?

No, and I do not have the wish to be a writer. Yet, I clearly like to write blog articles and reviews

Leave a comment