Reviews

Review This Is Where It Ends

this is where it endsThis Is Where It Ends by Marieke Nijkamp deals with a very serious issue, school shootings. I live in the Netherlands where this rarely happens, but I know it is a bigger problem in the U.S. Because it never was close to me, I never really thought how traumatizing it must be. Someone comes into your school, a place you come every day, and that person shoots people you know for at least a few years and maybe your whole life.It also deals with some very serious issues apart from school shootings. It discusses abuse, homosexuality, family and death. It even touched upon discrimination and racism.

It was told in four different perspectives, and they all had a connection to the shooter. I think I would have loved it even more if it was told from one perspective, because sometimes the multiple PoV’s took away some of the uncertainties the characters felt. There was one PoV I did not like and it did not add much of the story.

Marieke Nijkamp broke my heart into a million pieces, which does not happen that often with a book. I would like to talk about all the things that happened at the end of the story, but I won’t. it will spoil it for the rest and I think people should read it for themselves.

This book touched me, it made me cry like a little baby. So, naturally I would recommend this to everyone.

I want to give it 5 stars because of my feelings, but the writing was not perfect, so I will go with 4.5 stars.

4.5

 

Leave a Reply

