Reviews

Stranger Things

 

In a small town where everyone knows everyone, a peculiar incident starts a chain of events that leads to the disappearance of a child – which begins to tear at the fabric of an otherwise peaceful community. Dark government agencies and seemingly malevolent supernatural forces converge on the town while a few locals begin to understand that there’s more going on than meets the eye. 

stranger-things-season-2

I finally watched Stranger Things on Netflix. The series was extremely popular in the summer of 2016 and everyone talked about. I didn’t think I would like it as I am not a big fan of horror films and of thrillers. Yet, I loved it.

First of all, the story is exciting and keeps you wondering about what is going on. Yet, they take their time in developing the story and in building up suspense. This is impressive as the season one is only 8 episodes each of 45 to 50 minutes. So, you could watch it in one day, however, I did not do that. I took my time watching it because I have the attention span of a fly.

The series take place in the 80’s and the makers perfectly translated this period. The actors are great, just as the characters. The kids of Stranger Things are the perfect balance of the child’s careless mind and seeing the events as a serious problem. The other characters also transform during the course of the series, however, I look forward to seeing how they develop further in the next season.

stranger-things-gif-30_ampliacion

Like I said before, I do not like horror movies because I am a little chicken. Stranger Things is not as scary as I imaged it to be. Of course, there are some scary moments but there are also some light-hearted funny scenes. This makes it easier to watch and thereby, it is scary-scary; it is scary because of the unknown. When I was watching it, I had no idea what was going on.

I would highly recommend watching Stranger Things, even though you also might be a little chicken. I also liked that the season was relatively short because I might have gotten bored if it is too long. Yet, I am very excited for season 2 which will be released in the fall of 2017 on Netflix.

Leave a Reply

