Reviews

Magnus Chase & the Hammer of Thor

27904311Thor’s hammer is missing again. The thunder god has a disturbing habit of misplacing his weapon–the mightiest force in the Nine Worlds. But this time the hammer isn’t just lost, it has fallen into enemy hands. If Magnus Chase and his friends can’t retrieve the hammer quickly, the mortal worlds will be defenseless against an onslaught of giants. Ragnarok will begin. The Nine Worlds will burn. Unfortunately, the only person who can broker a deal for the hammer’s return is the gods’ worst enemy, Loki–and the price he wants is very high.

I have mentioned multiple times that I love Rick Riordan’s work and this book is no exception. The combination of an action-packed storyline with a funny, relatable narrative. It made me laugh while I was at the edge of my seat. Like the first book in this trilogy, Magnus Chase and the Sword of Summer, the story is told from the perspective of Magnus Chase. I enjoy reading in first person perspective because Rick Riordan’s jokes are better and it leaves some room for doubt, as Magnus Chase doesn’t know everything.

Like the other books of Rick Riordan, I loved the characters. But what I appreciate most about this book, is the diversity of characters. There is a deaf person, a Muslim, and a gender-fluid person, who are normally not represented in ‘mainstream and popular’ books. Another thing I enjoyed a lot were the titles of the chapters, just like the first book and the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series. For example, Chapter 1 Could You Please Stop Killing My Goat?

I cannot wait until the next book, which is also the final book of this series. I wish Rick Riordan could make this a five book series, just like the series in the Greek/Roman world. I enjoyed reading this book a lot and I give this book 4.5 stars.

 

Leave a Reply

